National 2018 Cooperative Excellence-Retailer of the Year awarded to BriarPatch Food Co-op

High survey ratings from customers and employees, endorsments from co-ops around the US, and strong community programs and business results push BriarPatch to the top.

In a surprise annoucement at the Consumer Cooperative Management Association (CCMA) Conference in Portland, Oregon organized by the National Cooperative Business Association (NCBA), the Cooperative Development Foundation and the Bowers Fund honored BriarPatch Food Co-op with the 2018 Cooperative Excellence-Retailer of the Year Award.

The June 2018 CCMA National Conference was a 3-day gathering of approximately 400 food co-op managers, staff, and board members. The Cooperative Excellence – Retailer of the Year Award recognizes one co-op as achieving the highest levels in leadership, strategic planning, organizational effectiveness, human resources, and business results.

At the award ceremony, the BriarPatch Food Co-op team listened to the nominations and endorsements being read from the podium, and, as the descriptions of co-op achievements started to sound more and more familiar, it slowly dawned on them that BriarPatch might be the 2018 national winner!

When Carolee Colter of CDS Consulting Co-op finally announced that the nominating committee had overwhelmingly endorsed BriarPatch for the Cooperative Excellence-Retailer of the Year Award, the audience broke into applause, and the surprised BriarPatch team exchanged hugs and congratulations.

Chris Maher, BriarPatch Food Co-op General Manager led the team to the stage to accept the award and enjoy the appreciation from the audience—hundreds of colleagues and allies in the national food cooperative community.

Following the BriarPatch acceptance speech, Maher announced yet

another honor for the Grass Valley, California Food Co-op. Alan Weisberg, Board Director, was awarded the 2018 Cooperative Board Service Award, which recognizes one board member out of all the national food co-op boards for an extraordinary commitment of time, talent, and resources that pushes their co-op to achieve its goals.

For more information on the CCMA Awards

CCMA Conference

BriarPatch Food Co-op

Photo 1: (from left) Kali Feiereisel (Board Director), Kat Bass-Pederson (Administrative Assistant), Chris Maher (General Manager), Kwong Chew (Board Vice President), Richard Drace (Board President), Alana Lucia (Board Director), Julie Hubbard (Pricing & Category Manager), Gwen Birk (Operations & Customer Service Manager), Alan Weisberg (Board Director), Katie Turner (Board Secretary), Jonathan Collier (Board Director), Michael McCary (Assistant Operations & Customer Service Manager), Mark Fenton (Board Treasurer), Margaret Campbell (Marketing Manager)
Photo 2: BriarPatch Food Co-op Board Director Alan Weisberg (right) accepts the national 2018 Cooperative Board Service Award from BriarPatch General Manager, Chris Maher (left).
Photo 3: Chris Maher, BriarPatch Food Co-op General Manager, announces Alan Weisberg, BriarPatch Board Director, winner of the national 2018 Cooperative Board Service Award